Machine Translation
Notice the Black and White. Are you from this city? Partner with us to bring PRARANG to this city. Let us together spread colours.

Moga is a city in the Indian state of Punjab. Moga was named after Moga Singh Gill, a forefather of the Gill community. It became part and headquarters of 17th District in the state, Moga district of Punjab state on 24th day of November 1995. It has a total population of 1,63,397.

The highest employment in the district is in Food and Beverages, Machinery, Leather based, Wood based, Printing and Rubber based industries. The district has 48% of the workforce employed in the Agricultural Sector, 47% in the Industrial Sector and the remaining 5% are Household workers.

Initially Moga was the part of Firozpur district. Later, on August 7th 1972, Moga tahsil became a part of Faridkot district. In the year 1995, Moga tahsil along with Bagha Purana tahsil clubbed together to form a new district Moga. Now at present Moga district consists of three tahsils viz Nihal Singhwala, Bagha Purana and Moga.

Moga district is bordered by Jalandhar district in the North, Ludhiana district in the East, Barnala and Bathinda in the South and Faridkot and Firozpur in the West. For the administrative purpose, the district is a part of Firozpur Division. For the purposes of general and revenue set up the district is divided into three tahsils viz Nihal Singhwala, Bagha Purana and Moga.

The area forms a part of Indo-Gangetic alluvium. It is practically flat except for occurrence of small scattered sand-dunes. The geological formations identified in the area are: sandy clay with saltpetre encrustations at places, clay with sporadic sandy nodules, coarse sand, a water-bearing sand horizon and impervious clay. The formations which have been encountered from a bore-hole drilled for oil, are the middle and upper Shiwaliks (between 195 & 700 metres).